Around the end of May this year, I got the chance to “read and review” a book called “The Annihilation of Foreverland”.  It was one of those books that kept me up late, reading “one more page”.  It was a great book!  For about a week afterward, the only review I could come up with was “Wow!!”
A couple of months later I got the chance to read another book by Tony Bertauski: “Claus: Legend of the Fat Man”.  After reading the other book, I jumped at the chance to read this one!  I was definitely not disappointed in any way!  “Claus: legend of the Fat Man” puts a whole new spin on the origin of many Christmas traditions.

After reading these two books, I cannot wait to read ANY book that Tony Bertauski writes (I’ve even considered reading the text books he’s written.  I like him THAT much!).

I now have the privilege to introduce you all to one of my favorite new Authors, AND this weekend you can download Claus FREE!
Friday 10-12-12 thru Sunday 10-14-12 at Amazon.com

Here is Mr. Tony Bertauski:

I teach about plants.

I know, what’s that got to do with fiction. Long story.

I started teaching horticulture a long time ago. Sometime during that tenure, I wrote two textbooks. You see, I always wanted to write and the opportunity presented itself, so, WHAP… two textbooks. Then I was asked to write a gardening column for a regional newspaper. Didn’t say no to that, either. I was officially a writer.

After all that technical writing, you might think fiction was a breeze. After all, it’s fiction. If I want them to fly, they fly. Let’s have some fun. Wrong.

And thus began the journey into storytelling.

I don’t consider myself a writer so much as a storyteller. Yes, I still write technically but I have editors to clean up my grammar. I still don’t know when to use lay or laid. Or whom. I let the editors worry about that.

Like most fiction writers, I’ve got stories in me and they want out. How many, I don’t know. So far, five. I’m working on the sixth one and I haven’t reached the bottom. However, it was nowhere near as easy to write fiction as I first thought. I think it took five years before I finally was comfortable with my debut novel, The Discovery of Socket Greeny. I’m a slow learner, but I’m hardheaded. Eventually, I figured it out. Nowadays, I write only on weekends and it takes about 3 to 4 months to get a rough draft finished. Another 6 weeks to work out the wrinkles.

And. I. Love it.

Experiencing characters come to life at the tips of my fingers is far more exhilarating than reading about someone else’s. But it’s not just that. It’s a chance to tell a story, one with meaning, one that moves the readers, sticks with them. Perhaps changes the way they look at life.

I want stories that mean something. Not just entertain.

Almost a year ago, my nephew mentioned the ninja elves that visit his school. They were invisible agents of Santa, he said. Like a burst of light, a story was born. Three months later, I wrote Claus: Legend of the Fat Man. It became a sci-fi/fantasy about Nicholas Santa and his journey to the North Pole in the early 1800s. It explains all the Christmas mythology like never before.

Frosty.

Rudolph.

The red coat, jingle bells, silent night… it will all make sense.

And, perhaps, you’ll look at Santa Claus in a whole different way.

Here is the link to Tony’s website. All of his books can be found there, Amazon and B&N
http://bertauski.com/

